Skip To Main Content

Advisory Committee

The worst thing that can happen to any organization is to become insulated from the “real world”. And to keep that from happening to the Department of Horticulture, we’ve assembled a first-rate team of volunteer advisors to tell us the truth about our performance. Each member of our Advisory Committee represents an important segment of Iowa’s horticulture industry. Twice a year, this team of horticulture professionals travels to campus to meet with faculty, staff, and students to receive departmental updates and to offer important feedback and opinions about our teaching, research, and extension/outreach programs. The committee also is charged with the responsibility of advocating for the department and for horticulture in general.

Jerald Deal
Deal’s Orchard
1102 244th Street
Jefferson, IA 50129
dealsorchard@gmail.com
Lyle Ditmars
Ditmars Orchard
19475 225th Street
Council Bluffs, IA  51503
lyleditmars@hotmail.com
www.ditmarsorchard.com
712-256-7053
Shawn Fopma
PBI Gordon Corporation                            Regional Sales Rep. IA/NE/CO
2912 Primrose Lane (Home)
Pella, IA 50219
515-710-2402
sfopma@pbigordon.com
Amber and Preston Gable 
Backcountry Winery
3533 Fenton Avenue
Stratford, IA. 50249
515-257-6739
backcountrywinery@gmail.com
Mike Gooder
The Plantpeddler
530 Second Avenue SW
Cresco, IA 52136
mikeg@plantpeddler.com
Kay Gradoville
Graddy’s Greenhouse Tomatoes
1200 W. 20th Street
Carroll, IA 51401
k@graddys.com
Dean and Judy Henry
Berry Patch Farm
62785 280th St.
Nevada, IA 50201
Judy- 515-450-8736
Dean – 515-231-9227
dean@berrypatchfarm.com
Tom Hughes
Hughes Nursery and Landscaping Services
5201 Nursery Road SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Tom@hughesnursery.com
319-396-7038
Jon Hungerford
Corteva
7100 NW 70th Avenue
PO Box 183
Johnston, IA. 50131
515-343-7851
jon.hungerford@corteva.com
Liz Kolbe
Practical Farmers of Iowa
1615 Golden Aspen Dr., Suite 101
Ames, IA  50010
515-232-5661 (Office)
641-325-1121 (Cell)
liz@practicalfarmers.org
Brian Krug
Greenhouse Technology Leader
Corteva
7305 NW 62nd Avenue
PO Box 287
Johnston, IA 50131
515-535-8466
919-740-1050 (cell)
brian.krug@corteva.com
Lynn Kuhn, Director
Outdoor Transformations
Granger, IA.
515-422-4789
lkuhn@q.com
Jeff Lamoureux 
Executive Director
Iowa Turfgrass Institute
1605 N. Ankeny Blvd. Suite 210
Ankeny, IA. 50023
515-635-0306
jeffl@iowaturfgrass.org
Kelly Norris                                   Award-winning Author and Plantsman
Des Moines, IA  50309-2897                712-621-5399                gardens@kellydnorris.com
Paul Ovrom
Iowa Dept. of Agriculture and Land Stewardship
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
515-242-6239
paul.ovrom@iowaagriculture.gov
Patty Reisinger
Trees Forever – Retired
2645 Quasqueton Diagonal Blvd.
Lot 6
Independence, IA 50644
pattyp@netins.net
Greg Rinehart
Rinehart’s Family Farm
703 Kale Road
Boone, IA 50036
gtrinehart@gmail.com
Randle (Randy) Robinson 
Golf Course Superintendents of America (GCSAA)
206 Centennial Drive
Huxley, Iowa 50124                        641-485-3249
rrobinson@gcsaa.org
Chris Schlosser
Iowa Cubs Sports Turf
One Line Drive
Des Moines, IA 50309
chriss@iowacubs.com
Randall Vos
DMACC
2006 S. Ankeny Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50023                          515-965-7310
rjvos@dmacc.edu
Close Video Player