Skip To Main Content

Advisory Committee

The worst thing that can happen to any organization is to become insulated from the “real world”. And to keep that from happening to the Department of Horticulture, we’ve assembled a first-rate team of volunteer advisors to tell us the truth about our performance. Each member of our Advisory Committee represents an important segment of Iowa’s horticulture industry. Twice a year, this team of horticulture professionals travels to campus to meet with faculty, staff, and students to receive departmental updates and to offer important feedback and opinions about our teaching, research, and extension/outreach programs. The committee also is charged with the responsibility of advocating for the department and for horticulture in general.

Jerald Deal
Deal’s Orchard
1102 244th Street
Jefferson, IA 50129
dealsorchard@gmail.com
Chris Coen
Glen Oaks Country Club
1401 Glen Oaks Drive
West Des Moines, IA 50266
chris.coen@glenoakscc.com
Mike Gooder
The Plantpeddler
530 Second Avenue SW
Cresco, IA 52136
mikeg@plantpeddler.com
Kay Gradoville
Graddy’s Greenhouse Tomatoes
1200 W. 20th Street
Carroll, IA 51401
k@graddys.com
Lynn Kuhn, Director
The Brenton Arboretum
25141 260th Street
Dallas Center, IA 50063
lkuhn@q.com
Dean and Judy Henry
Berry Patch Farm
62785 280th St.
Nevada, IA 50201
dean@berrypatchfarm.com
Lyle Ditmars
Ditmars Orchard
19475 225th Street
Council Bluffs, IA  51503
lyleditmars@hotmail.com
www.ditmarsorchard.com
Dwight Hughes
Dwight Hughes Nursery
5205 Nursery Road
Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404
dwight@hughesnursery.com
Liz Kolbe
Pratical Farmers of Iowa
1615 Golden Aspen Dr. Suite 101
Ames, IA  50010
515-232-5661 (Office)
liz@practicalfarmers.org
Patty Reisinger
Trees Forever
2645 Quasqueton Diagonal Blvd. Lot 6
Independence, IA 50644
pattyp@netins.net
preisinger@treesforever.org
Greg Rinehart
Rinehart’s Family Farm
703 Kale Road
Boone, IA 50036
gtrinehart@gmail.com
Chris Schlosser
Iowa Cubs Sports Turf
One Line Drive
Des Moines, IA 50309
chriss@iowacubs.com
Randy Robinson, Executive Director
Iowa Turfgrass Institute
1605 N. Ankeny Blvd. Suite 210
Ankeny, IA 50023-4163
randy@iowaturfgrass.org
Tim VanLoo
Jacobson Building
1800 S. 4th Street
Ames, IA  50011
vanlooti@iastate.edu
Kelly Norris
Director of Horticulture and Education Greater Des Moines
Botanical Garden
909 Robert D. Ray Drive
Des Moines, IA  50309-2897
knorris@dmbotanicalgarden.com
Tom Hughes
Hughes Nursery and Landscaping
5201 Nursery Road SW             Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Tom@hughesnursery.com
Paul Ovron
Iowa Dept. of Agriculture and Land Stewardship
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
paul.ovran@iowaagriculture.gov
Randall Vos
DMACC
2006 S. Ankeny Blvd.
Ankeny, IA 50023
rjvos@dmacc.edu