Des Moines Register features Horticulture graduates "The young team at the botanical gardens"

Click here for the complete story





Be True to Your School in the Turf Bowl Tweet Rally

​Click here for more information


Dr. Gail Romberger Nonnecke was honored on Friday, December 13, 2013 at a special event held at the Cardinal Room of the Iowa State University Memorial Union. A medallion ceremony was held to name Dr. Nonnecke as the inaugural recipient of Global Professorship in Global Resource Systems. Congratulations Dr. Nonnecke!





Ryan Adams Joins ISU Faculty

Ryan Adams Speaking at ISU Field Day

Ryan Adams joined the Iowa State faculty on August 19, 2013 in the position of lecturer/turfgrass extension. Ryan's primary responsibilities include communicating with the turfgrass industry in Iowa and the region. Ryan will also administer the programs and services that were previously handled by Dr. David Minner at ISU. Dr. Minner is currently on a 1-year assignment working with the EARTH (Education and Resiliency through Horticulture) program on the island of St. John (U.S. Virgin Islands).

Ryan received his M.S. at the University of Florida in August 2013. His work focused on nutrient management of bermudagrass fairways surrounding environmentally sensitive areas. Mr. Adams received his B.S degree in 2010 from Iowa State University. During his tenure at Iowa State University, Ryan interned at Pinehurst Resort in Pinehurst, NC, Shoal Creek Country Club in Shoal Creek, Alabama and with the United States Golf Association Green Section. He has also worked at the Iowa State University Research Farm, Ames, IA and Charlotte Country Club in Charlotte, NC.

Ryan's contact information is:

Ryan Adams
Lecturer/Turfgrass Extension
Iowa State University
222 Horticulture Hall
Ames, IA 50011
Phone: 515-294-1957

CURRICULUM NEWS - Department of Horticulture Offers New Minor in Landscape Management

The Landscape Management minor offered through the Department of Horticulture provides a framework for the academic study of the diverse areas of landscape management for non-horticulture majors. The minor combines courses in basic plant growth and development, plant selection, landscape installation and establishment, and landscape construction. 

The 15-credit minor is comprised of the following courses:
HORT 221: Principles of Horticulture (3 cr)
Optional (chose 12 credits from the following list of courses)
HORT 240: Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines for Landscaping (3 cr)
HORT 281: Landscape Graphics (2 cr) 
HORT 330: Herbaceous Ornamental Plants (3 cr)
HORT 341: Woody Plant Cultivars: Shade Trees, Ornamental Trees, and Woody Shrubs (2 cr)
HORT 342: Landscape Plant Installation, Establishment, and Maintenance (3 cr)
HORT 351: Turfgrass Management (3 cr)
HORT 444: Landscape Construction and Management (3 cr)

Faculty Receive Awards in 2013

Dr. Gail Nonnecke -Named 2013 Morrill Professor The title of Morrill Professor is bestowed on a faculty member who has exhibited excellence in undergraduate or graduate teaching, and/or Extension and Outreach programs. Nominees must hold the rank of professor and have served for at least five years prior to current year on the Iowa State University faculty. Dr. Nonnecke retains the title for the remainder of her career at the university.

Dr. Gail Nonnecke - 2013 International Service Award for outstanding international service in teaching, research, and administration, within the United States and abroad.

Dr. Cindy Haynes - 2013 Recipient of the NACTA (North American College & Teachers of Agriculture) Regional Outstanding Teaching Award

Dr. Nick Christians - 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award from the College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Alumni Society Board of Directors at Ohio State University.

Dr. Kathleen Delate - 2013 College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Outreach

Dr. Ann Marie VanDerZanden, Professor of Horticulture and Director of the ISU Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching was recently selected as Fellow of the American Society for Horticultural Science. Election as a Fellow of the Society is the highest honor that ASHS can bestow on its members, in recognition of truly outstanding contributions to horticulture and the Society.

Gamma Sigma Delta Names Two Mission Award Recipients in the Department of Horticulture

The Mission Awards are some of the highest awards given by the ISU chapter of Gamma Sigma Delta. Gamma Sigma Delta, which is an agriculture honorary. Nominations are accepted in four categories – research, extension, teaching, and international. The awards annually recognize faculty in the ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences who have made exceptional contributions in helping Iowa State University achieve its mission in the areas of extension, research, teaching, and international agriculture. Two of this year’s recipients are in the Department of Horticulture: Dr. Jeff Iles, Teaching Mission and Richard Jauron, Extension Mission.

What is horticulture?

New DVD Developed Showcasing Exciting Opportunities in Horticulture